There are currently 28 Speciality Registrars of whom 1 is an ACF (Academic Clinical Fellow) on the training programme.

In addition

  • 9 F2 trainees per year
  • 1 Paediatric Fellowship (12 months) and 1 Cochrane Fellowship (12 months

Training locations for the specialty programme:
You will be expected to spend a minimum of 12 months in a local authority. You are also required to spend a minimum of 4 months at the UK Health Security Agency (UKHSA), Thames Valley Team (Chilton).

Thames Valley local authority Public Health Departments include:
1. Buckinghamshire Council
2. Bracknell Forest Council
3. Milton Keynes Council
4. Oxfordshire County Council
5. Reading Borough Council
6. Slough Borough Council
7. The Royal Borough of Windsor and Maidenhead
8. West Berkshire Council
9. Wokingham Borough Council




Other available placements include:

  • Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • Milton Keynes General Hospital
  • Oxford University Nuffield Department of Population Health (NDPH)
  • NDPH Teaching Fellow
  • British Heart Foundation Centre (BHFC)
  • Cancer Epidemiology Unit (CEU)
  • Centre on Population Approaches for Non-Communicable Disease (CPNP)
  • Clinical Trials Service Unit & Epidemiological Studies Unit (CTSU)
  • Oxford Centre for Ethics and Communication in Health Care (ETHOX)
  • Health Economics Research Centre (HERC)
  • National Perinatal Epidemiology Unit (NPEU)
  • Office for Health Improvements and Disparities (OHID) (Chilton)
  • NHS England and NHS Improvement (NHSE/I) – Healthcare Public Health
  • NHS England and NHS Improvement (NHSE/I) – Screening and Immunisations
  • Local Knowledge and Intelligence Service, South East (LKIS)
  • Centre for Radiation, Chemical and Environmental Hazards
  • Solutions for Public Health